My First Poster Appropriation Ideas

The first poster I choose to appropriate is Hanoi-Hue-Saigon: The Country Is United  (below) by artist Le Minh Ngu (1976). The poster was designed one year after the end of Vietnam War and the North and South Vietnam rejoined. I fell in love with the poster because of its gentle colors and peaceful composition.

Now, I would like to put a new tweak to it. Recently, Hanoi administrators have cut down over 6000 old trees in the city, creating public outrage. The reason is because these trees have great environmental, historical and social value to the city. Besides, admist many failed and untransparent actions by the government, people doubt that cutting down these trees will result in any good.

Hence, through my poster concept, I would like to convey the importance of green areas in the developing Vietnamese cities across the country. The main title of the poster, loosely translated, means “The Nation Needs Green Areas.” Above, I substituted the train with modern Vietnam city scapes. However, I am still experimenting with the fonts.

Hanoi – Hue – Saigon: The Country is United

Prior to coming up with these ideas, I had studied the compositions of various posters to brainstorm new concepts.

Poster Thumnail Study