On My Instructor’s Artists Suggestions

As part of the pattern design project, our instructor, Miss Charlotte Rodenberg suggests several artists for us to look into. They include Julie Mehretu, Terry Winters, Sigmar Polke, Daniel Richter, David Salle, David Hockney, Gustav Klimt, AJ Fosik, and Trenton Doyle Hancock.

There are many artists with different styles and not all of them inspire me on the same level. AJ Fosik, in the end, turns out my favorite artist among all of the mentioned.

The first reason why his works intrigue me is because he is the only artist who creates 3D models and incoporate patterns on it. It is totally a personal preference that I prefer making stuffs.

aj fosik work

Regarding the patterns, he uses a nice balance of warm (yellow, green, red, pink) colors with cool ones (dark brown, black). I can see that the colors do not much gradient. They are solid, which creates the seemingly simplicity for the piece. A similar example can be seen below, where primary colors like red and yellow, which have been desaturated, are used. However, the piece below has more values within the same color, that is yellow.

3476935899_b0bcde0999

Another thing which I like about the his works is the organization and neatness of the patterns even though they are part of a complex culpture. Hence, somehow, I will steal his style and use for my works in the future.

1.bloodbone-527x610