Ideas For The Next Surface Project

My next project is about using patterns and colors. That’s it. The first thought which came to my mind was to create a set of patterns and paint them. However, I felt that it wasn’t enough.

Instead, even with patterns, I want my drawings and paintings to tell a story, which is my first rule. Thus, the story I want to tell is that of a little cat, burdened by the troubles and ordeals of life, decides to escape into space, even for just a while. Sitting on the moon, she marvels her problems and painful feelings flowing towards the sun, where they are all destroyed and a beautiful things come out of that destruction. For the cat, it is a cathartic experience.

And like any stories, I want my illustration to convey an emotion, forming the second rule.

This brings me the color rules I would like to apply to my illustration. They act as a framework and I expect a lot of developments as the work progresses.

1. The colors create an illusion of space, shape and form.

The setting of the illustration is in space, with planets and asteroids. Hence, an illusion which conveys distance and forms is essential.

2. Most colors are analogous.

As I want to atmosphere to be introspective, peaceful, yet marvelous, the colors will be mostly cool and mostly analogous.

3. A few colors are complimentary or split-complimentary

The contrasts created by these colors will help me bring out the main subjects of the illustration, which are the cat and the explosion.

Below are some of my color tests. I mostly just played with the colors to see what came out of the process.

Color Test Compiled.004 Color Test Compiled.003 Color Test Compiled.002 Color Test Compiled.001